A Sinful Twist on French Toast

I love my job! No, really, I love my job! But sometimes I want to escape.

I find myself daydreaming about “getting away from it all.” In my mind I jump on a plane and head to South America and the sun-drenched beaches and colorful jungles, where the steakhouse reigns supreme and fresh seafood is actually fresh.  Or, I head to Europe with the snowy mountains and bustling cities I have seen in the movies.  I see myself sitting in a trendy café with a flaky pastry and someone named John Pierre pouring a steaming café au lait.

Alas, my own little café and bakery doesn’t allow much time for getting away (or for daydreaming, for that matter) so I have to settle for traveling through my kitchen.  I love to try recipes from other cultures and countries.  One of my standard favorites is French Toast.  Who knew that old bread could be so delicious when given a new life by drenching it in custard?  What follows is a sinful twist on my standard French Toast recipe.  Instead of old bread, I use a homemade cinnamon roll! Don’t feel badly about using a store-bought roll, though.  The results will still be deliciously gooey.  This is just as delicious as a fun “dessert” for a late morning brunch as it is for a main course.

french toast prep
French Toast
3 large eggs
½ Cup whole milk
¼ Cup orange juice
1 T vanilla
1/8 t cinnamon
2 T butter
4 cinnamon rolls with frosting

  1. In a shallow bowl, beat the eggs, then add the milk, orange juice, vanilla and cinnamon and whisk together.
  2. Slice the cinnamon rolls in half horizontally. Dip them in the custard.
  3. In a skillet, melt 2 T butter.
  4. Add the dipped pieces of cinnamon roll in a single layer, and cook until golden on both sides (about 3 minutes on each side).
  5. Put them on plates and serve with powdered sugar, cinnamon and syrup.

french toast final

4 thoughts on “A Sinful Twist on French Toast

  1. Ever since I stole several bites of my daughter’s french toast at the Olive Branch, I’ve been craving more. So, I made this today using thick slices of my homemade lemon yogurt bread. I added brown sugar, nutmeg and more cinnamon to the custard base since I wasn’t using cinnamon rolls. It’s delicious!

  2. Pingback: Celebrating Mom | To Taste

  3. Pingback: Celebrating Mom | To Taste

Leave a Reply

