Chicken Soup for the Sick

chicken soup

Sick, Sick, Sick…

I HATE being sick.  Thank goodness I rarely am! I really don’t have time for it.  Wait, I don’t have time to blog, either!  Anyway, I do have a second rule of life: If you are sick, please don’t share. Stay home. Unless you’re faking, then you should go to work!

OK – now that that’s off of my chest, I do have a great recipe for a chicken soup that will soothe the savage “sick” beast.  It is easy to make and it will warm you up from the inside out.  The spice in it will clear your head and fill the house with comforting smells.  The recipe is in my cookbook, “To Taste,” but in the spirit of good health I will share it with you here…  PS – I hope you get to make this just to share with friends and not cuz you’re sick.

Chicken Tortilla Soup
1 package of raw chicken breasts – cut into bite size pieces
2 Large cans of chicken Broth (49.5 oz each)
2 small cans Rotel
2 small cans corn
4 T chili powder
1 package mild taco seasoning
crushed red pepper to taste
2 medium zucchini, cut into ½ inch chunks

Tortilla Chips
Sour Cream
Shredded Cheddar Cheese

  1. In a slow cooker, put the chicken pieces, the “rotel” (undrained), the corn (undrained) and the zucchini.
  2. Pour the chicken broth over everything and add the spices.  Cook on low for at least 6 hours, it can continue to cook up to 10 hours.

To serve:
Ladle soup into bowls.  Crush 2-3 tortilla chips into the soup and top with sour cream and cheese.

One thought on “Chicken Soup for the Sick

Leave a Reply

