Fresh Fruit Salsa

Believe it or not, I’m going on vacation!!  My sister is treating me to 5 days in St. Lucia.  (I don’t actually know where that is, but I’m packing the sunscreen and aloe!)  I have so much to do.  I have been so busy at work that I haven’t even had time to pack.  I’m nervous about leaving.  I’m not sure if I’m nervous about being missed, or about NOT being missed!  I have never been on vacation while the restaurant is open…

Anyway, all that to say, that I am leaving you with the fruit salsa recipe I have been promising.  I am also leaving you to the blogging skills of my good friend, Reid Johnson.  He is a fabulous drink concoctor.  I make him shake me up a chocolate martini every time he comes over for dinner!  His recipe is perfect!  He’s gonna share it and some helpful hints in the days to come!

I plan to return with new food ideas from the islands.  I’m sure they will inspire some fused recipes upon my return.  I promise to share them all!  Until next week…

Fruit Salsa:

  • ½ Can crushed pineapple
  • 1/2 pint blueberries
  • 1 Cup diced fresh strawberries
  • 1 peach, diced
  • ½ pint raspberries
  • ½ pint blackberries
  • 1-2 jalapenos, diced finely

Instructions

  1. Salt to taste
  2. Combine all of the fruits together in a bowl.  Add the finely diced jalapenos a little at a time to control the heat.
  3. Taste for seasoning and add a sprinkle of salt to bring all of the sweet and hot flavors together.
  4. This salsa is delicious over grilled fish or chicken or simply served with tortilla chips.  You can also pour the salsa over a block of cream cheese and drizzle it with honey.  Serve the cream cheese with crackers as a unique (and easy) appetizer.
Leave a Reply

