Guinep Trees

I’m back from my vacation!  I had a really great time.  It was so good to spend time with my sister.  We tubed and kayaked in the ocean, soaked up some sun, got massages every day… Wait! I promised you food stories, sorry.

St. Lucia is an interesting place.  It is a volcanic island that has man-made beaches.  We stayed at a resort so, aside from fresh fish, we didn’t really get to sample local fare.  The resort tailored their meals to visitors.  We had a 2 hour drive from the resort to the airport, though and were able to get a mini tour of the offerings of the St Lucian jungle.  Bananas, Coconut palms, Cacao trees, Mangoes, even a nutmeg tree! Our favorite discovery was the guinep tree!  Amanda and I grew up in Panama and we ate guineps by the pound.  We haven’t been able to find them since being in the states.

We were thrilled when one of our waitresses showed up with 2 bags full for us one afternoon.  She stopped at the village market on her way in to work.  Amanda and I rushed back to our room eager to see if they were as good as we remembered.  They were!

What is a guinep you ask?  It is the strangest fruit.  It is the size of a large marble.  It has a very thin, strong, green skin.  You crack it open and squish the fruit out into your mouth.  It is really just a large seed covered in a juicy, peach colored pulp.  You have to suck all the pulp off of the seed then discard the seed.  I think it tastes like mango and pineapple.  My sister thinks it tastes like a grape.

Either way, it’s delicious.  We ate both bags and had so much fun remembering our times in Panama.  I love the way food evokes memories.  I hope everyone is having a memorable summer and making the most of these last weeks… Till next time!

One thought on “Guinep Trees

  1. Wow. glad you had a great trip. I can’t/can believe it has been so long since you had a vacation. well deserved then indeed. Thanks for the heads up about the guinep…I would try one in an instant now that you described them.

Leave a Reply

