Perfect Cup of Joe

Why is it that coffee that someone else has made (and that you are paying $3.00 a cup for) is always better than coffee you make at home for yourself?  It seems like a simple enough process…  After all, you are basically just adding water and letting your machine do all of the work!  With all of the coffee education and theories available out there it can get overwhelming to know where to start!  I am not quite an expert, but I have been making coffee for a long time.  There are a few things that I find to be important when making coffee for yourself at home.  I’m going to share my tips today.

You have to have a good coffeepot.  It doesn’t have to be expensive, but do your research.  My favorite brands are Cuisinart and Krups.  You want a pot that brews really hot.  Coffee should be extracted at 190-210 degrees.   I also have switched to a thermal coffeepot (one that doesn’t sit on a burner).  I will never switch back.  Traditional coffeemakers have a burner that the carafe sits on once the coffee has been brewed.  This actually “cooks” the coffee and causes it to concentrate and become bitter.

  1. You have to use good coffee.  If you have a favorite spot for coffee, like The Olive Branch, start there.  They usually sell their blends by the pound.
  2. Grinding coffee as you need it is the best way to keep your coffee fresh and will result in the best tasting coffee.  Knowing how far down to grind your coffee is tricky.  For normal drip brewers, the coffee grounds should look like course sand.
  3. Measuring coffee is the next challenge.  I have found that 1 Tablespoon of ground coffee per cup of water is perfect.  I have a coffee scoop that I purchased at a coffee shop.  It is a 2 Tablespoon scoop (most of them are).   So, for example, when my coffeepot reads that I have filled it with water to the 8 cup mark, I add 4 level scoops of grounds to the filter basket.  By the way, for those that have coffeemakers that grind coffee before brewing, you can use that same measure for the whole beans.  Just add 4 level scoops of beans to the grinder before starting your pot.
  4. Always use filtered, cold water to fill your pot.

I feel certain that if you follow these tips your coffee will turn out delicious.  Remember that we sell our coffees at The Olive Branch.  We sell them in whole bean packages, or we can grind it for you. We have 4 custom blended coffees.  I spent 2 days at our coffee roaster’s plant tasting, mixing and matching coffees to come up with the ones we now sell!  It was a fascinating and fun process.  Totally worth the work.

  • My Plantation Morning Blend is a medium bodied blend that has a lot of Costa Rican coffee in it.  It has a bright flavor, but isn’t sharp tasting.
  • Our Downtown Dark coffee gets its rich, heavy flavor from African coffee.  It is full-bodied without any biting acidity.
  • Our Bakery Blend is a flavored coffee that has notes of vanilla, hazelnut, irish cream and chocolate.  It is sweet and distinctly nutty.

I hope tomorrow morning finds you waking up to an amazing cup of joe!

One thought on “Perfect Cup of Joe

Leave a Reply

