Creamy Mushroom Meatball Soup

Happy New Year! I hope that the holidays were nice and relaxing for everyone.  I am glad to be back in the swing of things.  I always enjoy the Thanksgiving/Christmas season, but I find that I miss my routine!  It was kind of quiet here at The Olive Branch that week between Christmas and New Year’s Eve.  What that means, is I had time to experiment.  It was kind of like that show on Food TV, “Chopped.”  I took a look around the kitchen to see what I could make using up the ingredients we had leftover.  I created a really yummy new soup: Creamy mushroom meatball.  Here is my first new recipe of the New Year!

Creamy Mushroom Meatball Soup:

  • 1 quart of beef broth
  • 1 family size Cream of Mushroom Soup
  • 1 packet of Onion Soup Mix
  • 1 T dried Thyme leaves
  • 1t garlic powder (or granulated garlic)
  • 1 small jar of sliced mushrooms
  • 1/3 of a bag of frozen, fully-cooked meatballs

Instructions:

  1. In a saucepan, stir together the beef broth and the cream of mushroom soup and start to heat on medium.
  2. Stir in the soup mix, the thyme, and garlic.
  3. Bring soup to a gentle boil, then turn down the heat
  4. Add the meatballs and the mushrooms.
  5. Heat through and serve.

(It’s yummy with a little dollop of sour cream, too!)

2 thoughts on “Creamy Mushroom Meatball Soup

  1. HI! We met when you FIRST opened up the Olive Branch, and I was there almost EVERYDAY for lunch since I was working just around the corner! I have recently had TWO children (in the last three years) and haven’t been as frequent. But, the hubby still picks me up some of your yummy, delish food! I’m so happy you have a blog! I LOVE to cook and it’s so nice to see a “GOOD” blog about food on here! Thanks! I can’t WAIT for more!

    • Congrats on the kids, I’m sure it’s a full time job. I don’t know how you even find time to cook. If you have any suggestions or questions you want answered let me know and I’ll be sure to write about it in an upcoming blog.

Leave a Reply

