Lasagna Pasta

I’m such a Texas girl!  I am a WIMP when it comes to cold weather.  Y’all know by now that cold weather, does however, urge me to hit the kitchen.  So last night I invited some friends over for dinner.  When I suggested that I was going to make a big pot of warm and filling spaghetti with tomato meat sauce, it was met with a less than enthusiastic face from one of my friends.  Something about the spaghetti noodles not holding onto enough sauce to make it taste good…?  Anyway… I decided to come up with a compromise.  I made a creamy pasta sauce with ground beef and sweet Italian sausage.  I stirred in some goat cheese for richness and ricotta for creaminess.  (think some sort of blend between a 4 cheese alfredo and a tomato meat sauce)  I used penne pasta (it “holds” onto more sauce than spaghetti- LOL) and baked it lightly under a layer of shredded mozzarella.  I served it with a pepperoni pizza salad and garlic bread made from an Olive Branch baguette.  (We sell those in the store for only $1.50, by the way) It hit the spot!  It was creamy and full of lots of spices and flavors.  It was filling and perfect on a chilly night.  Hope you like this one!

Lasagna Pasta

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 pound ground Italian sausage
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 12 leaves fresh basil (I chopped mine, but you could leave the leaves whole)
  • 1 can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes
  • 4 oz goat cheese
  • 1 container ricotta (15 oz)
  • 2 Cups heavy cream
  • 12 oz shredded mozzarella
  • 1 pound penne pasta boiled al dente
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a large dutch oven, brown together the meats with the minced garlic until it is crumbled and cooked all the way through.  Drain.
  2. Add the basil and the crushed tomatoes.  Once it gets hot, taste for seasoning and add salt and pepper to your taste.
  3. Add the heavy cream and stir in the goat cheese and the ricotta cheese until they are melted and well incorporated.
  4. Once the pasta sauce is hot and well mixed, turn the heat off and add the cooked pasta and stir it all together until the pasta is well covered.
  5. Add ½ of the shredded mozzarella and stir again.
  6. Pour the pasta into a 13×9 baking dish (I use a glass dish) top the pasta with the rest of the mozzarella and pop the whole thing into a 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes.
Leave a Reply

