Lazy Weekend

What a lazy weekend.  It was rainy and cold all weekend.  (Yuck!) I did my best to stay inside and dry.  I spent lots of time curled up the couch with my favorite furry friends.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

But to alleviate the boredom and in an effort to salvage some of my time off I indulged in some of my favorite local Waco restaurants.  I think it is really important (and fun) to support my local community.  There are a variety of local restaurants that offer types of food I don’t always get the chance to enjoy.  As you will figure out, Mexican food is my favorite non-bakery café food!

Saturday morning started off with a trip to Leal’s.  A family-run taqueria in Hewitt.  They have the best tortillas.  Their salsa verde is spicy and smoky and really delicious on a giant breakfast taco.  It warms you up from the inside out. Saturday night was a football game at Rosatti’s pizza.  It is a Chicago style pizza joint that specializes in homemade dough and deep dish pizzas.  I shared a pepperoni and sausage pizza with friends and added lots of spicy jalapenos to the top of the crispy double dough crust.  After church on Sunday, I got treated to Lolita’s.  Yes – another family-run taqueria.  They use a Monterrey jack cheese that makes all the difference.  They freshly shred huge blocks of it and generously melt it all over their flavorful taco fillings.  I love their crispy bacon.  Their salsa is served warm and is so delicious made into queso with the same Monterrey jack cheese.   Sunday night was the ultimate indulgence at Ninfas.  A bowl of hot chicken soup and a fresh green salad alongside a fajita beef taco on a homemade flour tortilla…

Don’t you worry, tonight is grilled tuna and salad. Back to the real world.  Spin class this morning was ROUGH!  I hope all of you enjoyed your weekend.  I’ll be working on some new recipes this week as we look forward to a special Valentine’s Day Dinner here at The Olive Branch.  Make plans now to attend if you can!  We will have limited seating and a special menu.

Leave a Reply

