California Dreaming


I was lucky enough to be a guest blogger on my friend’s blog Stacy Pate.  You might remember she blogged on here last weekend.  Here is what I posted on her site http://www.livesimplylivepurely.com/.

I’ll admit it.  I sometimes catch myself California Dreaming.  (hee-hee)  In this California dream, I am on a coastal highway in a convertible (not sure what convertible – I don’t own one)  letting the salty air whip through my hair (my hair knots in the wind and the humidity makes it GIANT) with my radio blaring the Beach Boys (I don’t ever listen to the beach boys).  Well, you get the picture, it’s a dream after all.  In this dream I am footloose and fancy free enjoying the sunshine and fresh air and on my way to a delicious meal served alfresco on some bluff overlooking the ocean.  I am not sure if these opportunities really exist in California.  I am sure, however, that they have an abundance of fresh foods and delicious produce.  In my continuing search to make healthy recipes that taste good I created this Lo-CAL(ifornia)southwestern poblano pocket.

So, I love chili rellenos at Mexican food restaurants.  (Anything deep fried and covered in sauce.)  However, these do NOT fall into the healthy foods category.  In fact, the veggie part is barely recognizable!  The following recipe uses dark green poblanos, fresh sliced avocado, and lean ground turkey.  The creamy avocado replaces the heavy sauce and the zesty guacamole salsa I use adds flavor to the lean turkey.  The recipe has a lot of steps, but is totally worth it.

Lo-CAL(ifornia) Southwestern Poblano Pockets


6 large poblano chilies

1 pound ground turkey breast

½ Medium onion

2 cloves fresh garlic, minced

½ Cup green avocado/habanero prepared salsa (I use Zaaschile)

1 large avocado, cut into thin slices

1 1/2 Cup finely shredded Monterey Jack Cheese

Wash, dry, then roast the poblano peppers until the skin turns black.  (You do this by placing the peppers directly onto high heat.  You can use a grill, the flame from a gas burner, or the broiler on high.  Just continually turn the peppers so that they char evenly on all sides.

Let the peppers cool.

Once cooled, peel off the blackened skin and remove the seeds by pulling on the stem end.  Slit the peppers open down one side creating a “pocket” and place them in a baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.

Meanwhile, in a medium non-stick skillet, brown the ground turkey breast stirring in often so that it creates small crumbles.  Once cooked through, add your onion and garlic and let it continue to sauté until the onion is cooked and turning soft.

Turn off the heat and stir in your green salsa.

 

Line the middle of each Poblano “pocket” with 3-4 avocado slices.

Top the avocado with the hot turkey mixture and the shredded Monterey Jack cheese (divide the turkey and the cheese evenly among the peppers)

 

Gently pull the sides of the peppers up over the filling (they won’t cover it completely)

Pop them under a broiler for 10 minutes or so until the cheese is brown and bubbly.

Serve them with fresh lime wedges and more salsa on the side!  These make a great, low-cal main dish with black beans and rice or a salad.

 

Leave a Reply

