Jalapeno Poppers

Spicy Chicken Poppers

OK, so y’all know that I love to eat!  And as good as I try to be, I love food that is bad for me.  Most of the time I can make good choices, but every so often a basket of fried pickles (Lake Brazos has the best in town), ooey gooey mozzarella sticks (gotta get em at Buzzard Billy’s), or bacon wrapped, stuffed jalapenos is the only thing that will satisfy.  I discovered that my very favorite stuffed jalapenos are at On the Border of all places.  They take giant jalapenos, stuff them with chicken and cheese, tempura batter them and deep fry them golden brown.  Delicious.  Seriously delicious.

I decided to come up with my own version.  I sorta threw a jalapeno stuffing party, actually.  I thought of all of the combinations I wanted to give a whirl and then let people try them!  Along with the chicken stuffed version, I stuffed some with goat cheese and dried apricots.  I wrapped the whole thing in bacon and broiled it until crispy.  Spicy, sweet and smoky… Anyway, on to the chicken poppers.

The chicken version was delicious too.  It made a very hearty appetizer.  The guys in the group were all in favor!  It is great if you are waiting a while before dinner or are throwing an appetizer party that needs to fill people up.  It also can be served with all different genres of food.  Here is the recipe for my filling.

Spicy Chicken Poppers

Fresh jalapenos

4 oz goat cheese

1 – 10oz can of chicken, drained

1 Cup shredded Monterrey jack

1 pkg bacon (you can opt to use the fully cooked bacon found in the refrigerated section)

Salt and pepper to taste

  1.  Wash the jalapenos
  2. Cut off the stems and slice the jalapenos in half lengthwise, removing the seeds.  Keep both halves of jalapenos together so you can put them together later
  3. In a bowl mix together the goat cheese, the chicken, the cheese and salt and pepper
  4.  Using a spoon, put about a tablespoon of the chicken mixture into one half of a jalapeno.  Top it with the other half.  Wrap a piece of bacon around each stuffed jalapeno making sure that the bacon ends are secured underneath the jalapeno.
  5. Place the jalapenos on a cookie sheet and broil on high for 8-10 minutes until the bacon is crisp and the jalapeno starts to blister.

Serve them hot.

3 thoughts on “Jalapeno Poppers

  1. Pingback: Congratulations are in order… | To Taste

Leave a Reply

