Pineapple Jalapeno Shrimp + Good Company

I love the way that food marks special occasions.  And let’s face it, for me, a special occasion is 2 days off in a row…  I usually spend those 2 days planning my next meal.  It has been several days now of special occasions.

Labor Day Weekend saw many of my friends coming back to Waco for a big football game.  After offering to cook, I was politely turned down with the “there are so many restaurants we’ve missed and must have a meal at before leaving” comment.  I totally understood!  We made the rounds to several Waco favorites.  Lolitas, Rosattis, and Georges just to name a few!

The week before, though, was another special occasion.  We had to say goodbye to our friend Reid.  He is off to a new adventure in Colorado!  He will be playing (I mean working) on a ranch in the mountains.  He will be teaching and mentoring youth who come to the ranch as part of their education requirements.  He will be sleeping, working, playing and eating (camp food) with this group 24/7.  I saw it only fitting to send him off to the world of hot dogs and trail mix with a hot, home cooked meal.  I tried to include all of his favorite things.  Hopefully, he will never have to give his last meal “order” to anyone, but I think this meal might have included some of the items on his list!

To start, we had caramelized onion and brie quesadillas and pineapple jalapeno stuffed coconut shrimp.  The meal was my bacon weave blue cheese tenderloin, twice baked potatoes and a peach/basil salad that my friend Tisa gave me the recipe for.

For dessert he specifically requested crème brulee.  My manager, Michael, made these for me.  His always turn out smooth and creamy.  They were a hit!  I am going to put my recipe for the coconut shrimp here.  Reid’s mom asked about it and I wanted to get it to her.

Pineapple-Jalapeno Stuffed Coconut Shrimp

½ Bag of frozen jumbo or colossal shrimp  (raw, easy peel, deveined)

1 – 8oz pkg of cream cheese, softened

1 fresh jalapeno, chopped finely

1 small can of crushed pineapple

1 T sugar

Pinch of salt

All-purpose Flour

1 bag of sweetened, shredded coconut

2-3 eggs, beaten

 

  1.  Thaw the shrimp.  (I thawed 3 shrimp per person)
  2. In a small bowl, stir together the cream cheese, pineapple, jalapeno, sugar, and salt
  3. Using a spoon, “stuff” some cream cheese mixture into the opening on the back of the shrimp created by the deveining process.  Set the shrimp aside into the frig to harden the cream cheese (about 20-30 minutes)
  4. Put your flour (about 2 cups) into a shallow bowl. Season the flour with salt and pepper.  Place the eggs into another shallow bowl and the coconut into a 3rd shallow bowl.
  5. Carefully coat each shrimp in the flour, then dip into the eggs, and then roll them in the coconut coating all sides and the filling.
  6. Place the coconut coated shrimp onto a baking sheet.  Bake them at 425 for about 8 minutes.  They should turn brown and crispy and be pink all the way through.

Celebrations are fun and they are always a fun place to try something new out on your friends.  I hope you guys find a reason to celebrate something soon.  Maybe the 20 degree drop in weather? 🙂

Leave a Reply

