Fair Fun + No Fuss Funnel Cake

The Fair is in town! I love Fair season. It brings to mind simple pleasures of, maybe, a time gone by. I don’t know about y’all, but fairs just seem to be whimsical, magical events where people fall in love on the Ferris wheel and dance under the stars to some rockin’ new country band. Where giant stuffed gorillas become the object of great desire and sausage on a stick is a gourmet meal. I know that it is just a figment of Hollywood’s imagination, but it sure beats the reality of the dirty, sticky rides!. I don’t actually have that much “hands on” experience with fairs. I do know, however, that “fair food” is looked forward to all year by people. As soon as that long awaited list of new fried foods gets published, everyone starts making their fair plans.

In searching for inspiration for this week’s blog recipe, I decided to turn to the Fair. I mean, all of my customers and employees are talking about the fair. What they did there, when they are going again, how many corndogs they ate and will one bag of cotton candy be enough to last the whole ride home… I decided I should give fair food a fair run at home. I made a list (cotton candy didn’t make it) of foods that I thought I had a shot at reproducing without a giant deep fryer. So, random as it was, I made a meal of: mini corn dogs, smoked turkey legs, cheese fries, and funnel cakes… Yep. It was as awful as it sounds. LOL – turns out “fair food” is much more fun at the fair! But we had fun splurging! I think the consensus was that the funnel cake was the closest competitor to the real thing. The mini corndogs would make a fun appetizer or a main course for a child’s party. Cheese fries… well, they are always good! I will share my “funnel cake” secret with you here. I hope you have a chance to use some of these fun things for a “fair party” of your own.

No Fuss Funnel Cakes

1 refrigerated roll of croissant dough

1T sugar

½ T cinnamon

½ stick butter, melted

  1. Spray a 9” cake pan with non-stick cooking spray
  2.  Open your croissant dough and unroll the pieces.  Using a sharp knife, slice the dough into strips.  (all different sizes are fine)
  3. Twist the strips and lay them in the bottom of the pan.  Cover the whole bottom of the pan in one layer.  (think funnel cake design)
  4. Evenly sprinkle the dough with cinnamon and sugar
  5. Pour the melted butter over the top of all of it.
  6. Pop it into a 375 degree oven for 15-20 minutes or until it is baked through and golden brown.
  7. Sprinkle the top with powdered sugar and serve warm!

Here’s hoping all of you find love on the Ferris wheel…

3 thoughts on “Fair Fun + No Fuss Funnel Cake

Leave a Reply

