Pinterest + Lemon Thyme Braised Chicken

PINTEREST!  UGH!  I DO NOT and I repeat – DO NOT have time for this amazing creation!!!!  I fought against all of the invitations and took the warnings from my pinterest junkie friends seriously for all of 3 months before my curiosity got the best of me.  Now I’m hooked.  Turns out, I have a lot of creative friends who like to throw parties and cook.  I love looking at all of the ideas they have gathered into one location.  Actually – I have convinced myself that it is a true time saver.  Now I am not stuck on the internet doing my own research!  I have hordes of people scouring, quite frankly better sites than I would find, for the most interesting things.  From party themes, hairstyles, a recipe for pot roast and 101 things to do with cardstock all the way to wedding ideas and make-up tips this pinterest thing has it all.

In the non-pinterest free time that I have left I am doing my darndest to come up with some creative ideas/recipes of my own.  While I promise to work on some fresh, new, lighter recipes for the new year, it is difficult when it is rainy, cold and gray.  Let’s be honest.  December, January and February should have been called “comfort food season” instead of winter.  I came up with the recipe I am going to share here by combining a couple of different recipes.  I wanted something I could cook for a while and I also wanted it hearty and filling.  I didn’t really want to make a soup or a chili though.  So I braised chicken thighs.  I used one of my favorite chicken stew recipes for the flavor base.  (Lots of sherry and fresh thyme)  I added some cream and sour cream to make the sauce silky and smooth once the chicken was cooked through and tender.

I served these chicken thighs over brown rice to which I added caramelized onions and crème brie.  I added a salad with my maple vinaigrette dressing and sliced fresh French bread to soak up the sauce.  I hope you guys try this and like it.  It is very simple.  A one pot wonder, if you will.  The recipe follows here and I am back off to pinterest.

Feel free to follow me if you’d like! 🙂  Till next time!

Lemon Thyme Braised Chicken Thighs

1 large package chicken thighs (boneless, skinless)

Olive oil

1 large fresh lemon

White wine or Sherry (about 2 cups)

1 pkg fresh thyme

3 cloves fresh garlic, minced

Salt and pepper

1 cup heavy cream

½ cup sour cream

  1.  Drizzle a small amount of olive oil in a large skillet and heat over med high until shimmery
  2. Add the chicken thighs in a single layer and let them brown on both sides.  Once brown on both sides, move them into a large Dutch oven.  You may have to do this in batches, wiping out the skillet and re-heating fresh oil depending on how large your skillet is.  (your skillet must be dry when searing the chicken or it won’t brown)
  3. Once all the chicken is in the Dutch oven, season with salt and pepper.  Add the package of fresh thyme and the minced garlic.  Wash the lemon, squeeze the juice over the chicken and drop the lemon halves into the pot too.
  4. Pour the white wine or sherry over the chicken until the liquid is halfway up the meat or about ½ inch deep in the pot.  (Do NOT cover the meat completely with the liquid)
  5. Put the lid on the pot leaving it slightly askew to let steam escape.
  6. Cook the chicken over medium low heat for about 2 hours or until the chicken becomes very tender.
  7. Remove the lemon and the thyme stems.
  8. Place the chicken in a serving dish and cover it with foil
  9. Add the cream and sour cream to the braising liquid and let it come up to a simmer while whisking it smooth.
  10. Pour the sauce over the chicken thighs and serve!

Serve the chicken with rice or a nice crusty bread to soak up the sauce.

Leave a Reply

