Chocolate Chip Cookie Trifle

So the Superbowl was last weekend.  It sorta snuck up on me this year.  I mean, to be fair, I don’t really care about either team that was playing.  (But the commercials are always fun to watch)  And it did happen to fall on the first weekend after opening our new express café concept.  And we did do a charity catering for 350 people on Friday night.  Anyway – what I’m trying to get at is that I was TIRED!  LOL – I had all of these grand plans.  I wanted to attempt a new hot wing recipe.  And have people make their own pizzas with homemade pizza dough…  Needless to say, I settled for fajitas and staying awake till the end.  (Thankfully it was a fast paced, close game and that helped keep my attention)  Since I was a little overwhelmed and tired of being on my feet, I actually asked a couple of my guests to bring their favorite foods to share.  My friend Simone brought a dip I had never tried.  Black beans, cream cheese and a sweet and smoky chipotle topping.  Served hot, it was delicious.  Sweet and savory.  Very interesting.  And very good!  My friend Anna brought a yummy, creamy,  oreo surprise overload pan of heaven!  Apparently it had a little bit of everything good in it.  It made us laugh as she described it and we both immediately thought of the scene from “Friends” in which Rachel attempts a strawberry trifle and mixes it up with a shepherd’s pie recipe.  http://www.thewb.com/shows/friends-on-dvd/rachels-trifle/f185a55d-3cac-4f7d-83bf-d62faa03a945  The difference being, of course, that this oreo explosion turned out to be ALL GOOD!

I promise this story is going somewhere…  As you are all aware, we opened the new gourmet grab and go café this month.  It has been fun.  One of the facets of the business is to provide a $5 hot meal complete with a dessert.  Well, coming up with a different dessert for 50-60 plates everyday is kind of a (fun) challenge.  Today’s dessert got its inspiration from Anna’s superbowl explosion.  I had some ugly chocolate chip cookies lying around that I hated to toss but they weren’t pretty enough to sell.  You know the kind I mean.  They taste really good, but you’re kind of embarrassed about the way they look?  (Yes – even professional bakers make ugly mistakes sometimes…)  So in the spirit of “waste not want not” I decided to come up with a way to use them.  Thus my chocolate chip cookie trifle was born!  The recipe is below.  It was a big hit!  No one knew how ugly it all started out….  So thanks, Anna, for the contribution to the Superbowl meal and also to my dessert list!  This one’s for you!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Trifle

Approximately 12 pre baked chocolate chip cookies

12 oz cream cheese

1 T vanilla

1 Cup of powdered sugar

1 small cool whip (thawed)

3 Cups of chocolate pudding (I used snack packs)

Hot Fudge Sauce for drizzling

  •  In a 11×8 pan, crumble half of the chocolate chip cookies in a layer on the bottom of the pan.

  • With a mixer, beat together the cream cheese, vanilla and powdered sugar.  Fold in the cool whip.
  • While beating the cream cheese filling, gently spread the chocolate pudding over the tops of the cookies
  • When the cream cheese mixture is all incorporated, spread it over the top of the pudding

  • Crumble the rest of the cookies over the cream cheese layer

  • Warm a couple of tablespoons of the fudge topping and drizzle over the top of the cookie trifle.

  • Keep refrigerated.

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Trifle

Leave a Reply

