Creamy Lime Vinaigrette

The quest continues for healthy, fun recipes this Spring!  I am SO tired of salads!  Their one saving grace, though, is that there is no end to the fresh, seasonal ingredients you can add to them right now!  I threw together a salad last night that turned out interestingly.  Pretty good, actually!  I had some baby spinach and mixed salad greens for the base.  I tossed in sliced strawberries, fresh blueberries, a few slices of red onion and some chopped pecans.  I hunted for fresh basil (which I think would have been a great addition) but I didn’t have any.  When I make it next time I will be sure to add some fresh basil leaves to my salad bowl.  I had a small piece of Wenslydale cheese with cranberries that I tossed in too.  The cheese was delicious, but not necessary.  Feta would work well, too if you like cheese in your salad.  I served it alongside braised brisket strips, but I think it would have been delicious with grilled tuna on top!

Here is the recipe for the creamy lime dressing.  It is tart and creamy.  Think poppyseed dressing, but not as sweet.  It doesn’t take much to cover so use it sparingly at first.  I hope this inspires you to create your own salad dinner masterpiece!  I’m waiting for one that tastes like pizza…

Creamy Lime Vinaigrette

¼ Fresh lime juice and the zest from one lime

2 T light white wine vinegar

2 T smooth Dijon mustard

¼ Cup half and half

Salt and course ground black pepper

Whisk all of the ingredients together.  Be sure to add plenty of salt.

One thought on “Creamy Lime Vinaigrette

  1. If there’s one tip I could offer re new vegetable dishes that have nothing to do with salads, it would be to try to be more observant, and to be open to new ideas. I take my inspiration from various sources — from online food boards, from talking to various friends on Facebook, from my own experiences from going out to eat at various restaurants, from hanging out at farmers’ markets, from reading cookbooks and restaurant menus, and from reading other food blogs. eventually you build up a base of knowledge that you can use to expand your horizons. it’s a gradual process, but one that’s well worth the effort in the end.

    good luck!

Leave a Reply

