Entertaining Menus

I love to entertain. It really is my favorite thing to do for fun. It seems like I never have enough time to, though! However, tonight I am having a couple of good friends over for dinner. It seems like it has been forever since I’ve had an occasion to cook. I have found myself fussing over the menu ALL day! LOL – it isn’t even that big of a deal. I mean, really, we just want to get together and hang out. I don’t think the food would even matter! BUT – I want to make one of everything! Does anyone else ever have that problem? Putting together a menu seems to be the biggest part of the battle sometimes.

There are menus that write themselves. For example: chicken fried steak gets mashed potatoes and green beans. Teriyaki Chicken gets rice and steamed Asian veggies. But there are other menus that are a little trickier. For instance, tonight I am starting with some sirloins I had in my freezer. So now the question is blue cheese topping or traditional grill? Should I do potatoes? Mashed or twice baked? Or maybe just a salad and cheesy garlic bread? A creamy risotto or a bacon baked macaroni and cheese would be fitting steakhouse sides, too. See my quandary? So many choices.

I always love to try out new creations when I have willing guinea pigs. BUT since I haven’t cooked in a while, I’m craving my standard go-to’s. (Which is always a boring twice baked potato) Does that make me a sell-out? Haha – it probably makes for a boring blog…
I do know that I am going to add a new drink creation to the mix. One of my friends likes coconut as much as I do. SO I see this as a perfect opportunity to whip up the coconut drink concoction that I discovered in the tropics. I am going to serve it for dessert!  I’ll leave you with that recipe!  But be sure you make this to share. It is really rich and can be deceptively strong.  And – it is definitely better when shared with friends!

I am sure the menu will work itself out as I wander through the grocery store this afternoon. Wish me luck! And good luck to you as you create menus to share with your family and friends!

Coconutty Concoction

1 13.5 oz Can coconut milk (can use light if you wish)
1 12 oz Can cream of coconut
1 13.5 oz Can Coconut Rum
Juice of 2 fresh limes
2 13.5 oz Cans Ice

Pour the coconut milk, cream of coconut and the coconut rum into the blender. Add the juice of the limes and the ice.

Blend until the ice is smooth and the drink is slightly slushy. (It won’t get thick unless you want to add more ice) Pour into tall glasses and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

