S’more Love

It’s that Fall time of year again. I had to turn the heat on for the first time of the season last night.  I found myself starting to carve hot apple cider and anything with pumpkin in the name.  Every time I stepped outside I could smell the first fires kicking up in my neighbors’ fireplaces which brought to mind bonfires… and s’mores!

I don’t live somewhere that building a bonfire is a good idea. (or even legal) So I started to think of a good way to create that ooey gooey marshmallowy treat inside. I think I came up with a relatively good option! The S’more brownie bar.

This isn’t your typical “s’more brownie” where all of the requisite ingredients are mushed up somewhere in the batter. In fact – they aren’t in the batter at all! I very carefully layered them and put them together so that they were just as messy as the real thing! (Everyone knows that’s part of the fun.)

In lieu of apple cider, I put a small saucepot full of water that I sprinkled ground cinnamon and nutmeg into along with some whole cloves on my warming burner and got to work. With the smell of Fall filling the air (The warming concoction wasn’t to drink. Only to smell!) I made a pan of thick, fudgey brownies. You can use your favorite recipe or box mix. You have to have graham crackers, mini marshmallows and chocolate bars. (I used the “fun size” Hershey’s bars.)

Once the brownies cool, the fun part of assembling begins. Pre-heat your oven to 375. Cut your brownies into squares the same size as half a sheet of graham crackers. On a cookie sheet (line it with parchment!) lay out your graham squares. (as many as you want to make!) Place an unwrapped fun size chocolate bar on each graham square and top with the cut brownie square. Then – pile the brownie with mini marshmallows.

Pop the whole cookie sheet into the oven until the chocolate melts and the marshmallows get puffy and golden. Watch them carefully! They go from golden to burned fairly quickly… Once they are golden and puffed and oh so ooey gooey, press another graham square on top.

You have to do this quickly before the marshmallows cool. Your s’more brownie bar is ready! Dive in if you dare! You can use a fork if you want to too! 

Happy Fall!

One thought on “S’more Love

Leave a Reply

