Creamy Comfort Food

It is COLD here in Texas. It’s not supposed to get cold in Texas. But it has.  Like snowflakes on the windshield cold.

snow

You know what that means… comfort food weather. The temperature falls and all I want to do is put a roast in the oven and mash some potatoes. Creamy pastas and spicy Mexican food smothered in rich sauces. YUMM!

One of my favorite comfort foods in cold weather is potatoes. Let’s face it. Potatoes are my favorite food. I could eat them with every meal. But this winter I found myself wearing the potato out in my meals! Every time I had friends over for a meal a twice baked, mashed or au gratin potato found itself on their plates! I had to break the rut! I didn’t want my friends to think I was a one hit wonder! So the twice baked SWEET potato found its way to my oven!

stuffed

I love sweet potatoes too. They are rich and creamy even without adding anything to them. Slightly sweet on their own, I like to eat them in savory dishes even more than sweet ones! I discovered that a twice baked version turns out beautifully. The natural sugars caramelize slightly to crisp up the outside and the savory filling is a perfect accompaniment to a well-seasoned steak!

Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes

4 medium sized sweet potatoes or yams

1 Cup of plain Greek yogurt

8 oz softened cream cheese

2T nutmeg

Salt and pepper

Bake the sweet potatoes until they are fork tender.  Let cool

Once cool to the touch, slice the top off and very carefully hollow out the sweet potatoes leaving a thick shell and reserving the sweet potato guts in a medium sized bowl.

empty skin

Sprinkle the inside of the skins with salt and pepper

mixed

Add the yogurt, cream cheese, and nutmeg to the potato in the bowl and mash all together.  Taste for seasoning and add salt and pepper as desired

ings

Evenly spoon the filling back into the shells, piling the extra carefully on top.

mashed

Pop the filled potatoes back into the oven for 20-30 minutes until golden brown and hot all the way through!

Try this recipe at your next dinner party. You can get the potatoes filled and ready for the oven the day before if you want to. Just cover them with plastic wrap and leave them in the refrigerator. Pop them in the oven for about 45 minutes before you want to serve them.

Leave a Reply

