Spicy, Crispy Chicken Tenders

I was having friends over for dinner the other night and the usual quandary reared its ugly head. What to fix…? I asked around for suggestions but the only answer I received was “chicken.” Not a specific kind of chicken, just chicken. So I started thinking about all of my chicken “usuals.” Boring. I like a challenge! I also like FRIED chicken. But I definitely don’t fry chicken. I really shouldn’t even eat it! I decided to create a compromise.
I coated chicken tenders in sour cream that I seasoned with ranch dressing mix. I then rolled them in crushed onions and jalapenos. What? There is a new and wonderful salad topping that they in the produce and salad dressing aisle. Crispy, salted jalapenos. I used those and French fried onions as my crunchy coating for my “non-fried” chicken tenders!

jalapenos
They came out crispy and flavorful. They had a little heat from the jalapenos, a sweetness from the onions and the creamy, moist goodness of ranch dressing!
I served them with mac and cheese and a salad. They would be yummy with mashed potatoes, too!

plated
I hope you like this improvised “fried” chicken recipe! I thought it turned out yummy!

 

Crispy jalapeno Chicken Tenders

 

1 package of chicken tenders

1 bag of crispy jalapenos salad toppings

1 can crispy fried onions

16 oz sour cream

1 packet ranch dressing mix

 

  1. In  a small bowl, mix together the sour cream and the ranch seasoning
  2. In a large Ziploc bag, mix together the fried onions and jalapenos.  Then crush them into small pieces using a rolling pin or some other heavy object.small pieces
  3. Dip, drag and roll the chicken tenders, one at a time, in the sour cream, coating each piece well. coating 1
  4. Drop them into the bag of crushed jalapenos and onions (one at a time) and be sure to cover the tender completely. coating
  5. Lay each tender in a single row on a cookie sheet lined with parchment.  Don’t crowd or overlap them.ready for oven
  6. Bake them in a 375 degree oven for 10 minutes.  Flip and continue cooking for another 10-15 minutes or until the chicken is cooked completely.oven best

 

Serve them up!  They are good with ranch dressing on the side as a dipping sauce!

finished

One thought on “Spicy, Crispy Chicken Tenders

Leave a Reply

