Some of my favorite people!

So I tried to do a fun thing last week for my friends. I threw a “favorites” dinner! I asked each of them their favorite dish for different parts of a meal.

three

Appetizer, Drink, salad, main course and dessert. They were so funny. I had to pick and choose to create a meal that made sense! I mean – rice and beans just don’t “go” with Lasagna and coconut shrimp! This is what we ended up with:

dolla bill

Drinks – Lara picked anything with coconut or a drink made with fresh grapefruit juice. I ended up making a pitcher of “The Best Drink Ever” (out of my cookbook) A yummy, coconutty daiquiri
Appetizer – Jonathan is king of snacks so he got this category. He loves anything cheesy and dippy. So…Italian queso it was! (Also in my cookbook) I served it with toasted baguette pieces.

IMG_4394
Salad – Alison raved about the salad I threw together for the chicken and waffles meal I made a couple of weeks ago. So I pulled that one back out just for her.

me and becca
Main Course – Joey is the Italian in our group and loves anything with ricotta! Homemade Lasagna it was. I added extra ricotta to the meat sauce to make it extra rich.

tennis
Dessert – Aaron loves Cheesecake and Courtney loves all things chocolate Mousse! So… I combined them. I made a thick vanilla cheesecake and topped it with a light and creamy chocolate ganache mousse and fresh strawberries.

It was a feast! We had to be rolled out of the dining room! It was a lot of fun to take time to figure out what my friends like and to come up with a way to do something special for each of them all at the same time. I hope you get a chance to celebrate your friends “just because” sometime soon. Friends are a blessing and a treasure and time spent with them is a treat! Thanks for indulging my craziness, guys!

all of us

Since it was such a hit, I am including the recipe for the salad dressing and the ingredient list for the salad I threw together. Hope you enjoy this one! Homemade dressings are super easy and leave little excuse for purchasing bottled ones! You will have most of these ingredients on hand I bet! And your guests will think you are brilliant!

Honey Dijon Vinaigrette

½ Cup white wine vinegar

3 T honey Dijon mustard

1 T olive oil

Juice of 1 fresh lemon (about 2T)

Salt and pepper

Whisk all ingredients together.  This makes enough dressing for a salad that feeds 8- 10 people.  You can save the rest in an airtight container for your next salad!  Or marinate chicken tenders in it!

Salad that I use it on:

Chopped romaine

Chopped Kale (stems removed)

Diced avocado

Pepperoncini peppers

Shredded mozzarella cheese

Crumbled Crispy salami  (I cook salami in a 400 degree oven until it is brown and crispy)

One thought on “Some of my favorite people!

Leave a Reply

