Inspiration!

Noun
1. The process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, esp. to do something creative: “flashes of inspiration”.
2. The quality of having been so stimulated, esp. when evident in something: “a moment of inspiration in an otherwise dull display”.

Synonyms
afflatus – inhalation

purple-rose-1-1024x768

Do any of y’all ever have trouble with inspiration? I do. Sometimes I get so bogged down in day to day activities that I forget to “stop and smell the roses!” It’s funny. So much of my success in my daily work depends on my creativity and inspiration. But it can be tough to be “fresh and new” all the time! But my customers love to see new cupcake creations in the case, a new limited-time-offer dressing on the menu, a seasonal soup or even new and interesting art on the walls.

I run into people often who tell me their dream is to own a restaurant or a bakery or a bakery café. And they always follow that statement with “I love to bake, cook, entertain, decorate cakes…” Or a combination of those activities. I enjoy those things too. Even 10 years later. I’d like to do those things one day… LOL

Just kidding. I do get to participate in many of those activities. But it is often as a teacher, a coach, or a mentor. 85% of my time at work (and I get a lot of time at work) is spent returning emails, filing paperwork, meeting with accountants, bankers, advertisers and brides. I have to do cost analysis, search for products, price replacement equipment, schedule A/C repairmen, come up with marketing and media plans, create (and bid) special event menus and “shake hands and kiss babies!” It doesn’t leave much time for the baking and cooking that I love.

That’s one reason I enjoy the blog. I love getting to create a menu just to share with my friends. I love coming up with a crazy, time-consuming dessert that I could never pull off in the restaurant’s setting. I love being able to sit down and share a meal with people I enjoy catching up with. (It seems none of us get the luxury of a quiet, lingering meal as often as we would like.)

dinner party

This week I will be in search of this elusive thing called inspiration. I am going to take some time to check out my creative friends’ pinterest pages, read as many “pretty” magazines as I can find, and wander through junk, antique and treasure stores. Sometimes just surrounding myself with other peoples’ creative genius jump starts my left brain!JunqueShop

 

If you have any inspiration tricks that work for you, let me know! But for sure be looking for “new and fresh” in my Olive Branch world! Stop and smell some roses, friends!

Leave a Reply

