Missing Mayberry

I was invited to a Pie Social this past weekend. Have you ever been invited to a Pie Social? My baker threw it. (She LOVES pie!) The minute I received the invitation I was intrigued. I mean, a pie social. Everything about it sounded so Mayberry-ish! Like a throw back to simpler times; when every windowsill had a pie cooling on it. Haha I couldn’t resist. I had to see how this worked…

20130728_182015

Well – it was very simple. Everyone that was invited was to bring a pie. Their favorite to eat, their favorite to make or a new experiment that sounded good. Not typically a pie girl myself (I prefer cake), I struggled to think of ideas. I don’t care for pie crust, I know- it’s shocking! But I do love pie fillings. As long as hot fruit isn’t involved. I don’t know, I just can’t do hot fruit. I can appreciate the homey warmth of a fresh baked apple pie, but I won’t eat it. Chocolate and coconut are more my style.  (Hence the German Chocolate Pie I made up)

Since I don’t really have a favorite, I asked Casey (the hostess with the most-est) what I should bring. She suggested a savory pie of some sort since we were, after all, going to be eating pie for dinner AND dessert that night! She told me there would already be a quiche and a chicken pot pie (the first 2 savory pies I could come up with), so I decided to invent something on my own. Why not experiment when I would have access to an entire yard full of strangers to use as guinea pigs?! 

And so… the chimichanga pie was born. I am including the recipe. It was so simple and it turned out really well. (You know- for someone who doesn’t make pies) This would honestly make a great main course with a salad and some fresh fruit. You could make it ahead and just re-warm it for guests. Or take it to the next pie social you get invited to!

20130728_182142

Let me end by telling you that the pie social was a hit! It was really fun to see what people brought. Almost everyone had a story about what they made and why or where the recipe came from. It was, actually, a couple of hours of a simpler time. Almost Mayberry-ish! New friends, new stories and yummy pie all shared in a backyard over tall glasses of lemonade and gingham checked paper plates and napkins. Casey out-did herself!
Chimichanga Pie
Serves 6-8 people

2 deep dish pie crusts (frozen)
2 refrigerated roll-out pie crusts
1lb Chorizo
1lb Extra lean ground beef
2 Cups shredded Monterrey Jack Cheese
12oz black beans (can be whole or refried)
1-12oz jar green salsa
¼ Cup corn starch
2Cups shredded Cheddar (divided)
1 ½ Cup Sour Cream (divided)
1 avocado
Lemon juice

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
2. In a skillet, crumble and brown the ground beef and the chorizo making sure they are fully cooked

chi 1
3. With a slotted spoon, remove the meat from the skillet and drain well on paper towel. It needs to be as dry as possible!
4. While the meat is draining and cooling, pour the green salsa into a small mixing bowl. Add the corn starch and whisk together until the cornstarch is fully incorporated

chi 7
5. In a large bowl, combine the drained meats, the black beans, 2 Cups of the Jack cheese, 1 Cup of the cheddar cheese, the green salsa mixture and 1 Cup of sour cream. Mix well.

chi2
6. Place the frozen pie crusts on a parchment lined baking sheet and prick the bottom and sides well with a fork.
7. Divide the pie filling evenly among the pie shells.

chi 3
8. Carefully place a refrigerated pie crust on top of each pie and crimp the edges to seal the top crust to the bottom crust.

chi 6
9. Cut slits in the top pie crust to allow steam to vent. You can do this decoratively or just make vents

chi 5
10. Pop the pies into the oven for 30-45 minutes, or until the crust is baked thoroughly and golden.

chi 4
11. Remove and let cool slightly. You want to serve the pie warm, but not piping hot.
12. Place the remaining sour cream in a pastry bag or Ziploc with the corner cut out and decoratively pipe the sour cream around the edge and the middle of the pie (or however you want it to look!)

20130728_181954
13. Slice the avocado and place it decoratively on top of the sour cream. Lightly brush the avocado with lemon juice to keep it from browning before you serve it!
14. Slice and enjoy!

One thought on “Missing Mayberry

Leave a Reply

