When in Mexico…

So I got to accompany my sweet and fun sister to Mexico last weekend for the wedding of some dear friends. Mexico in February is the place to be! It was absolutely beautiful! It was such a treat to jet down just for a couple of days and soak up some sun and share a lot of laughs with new friends.

mexico

You know me, though. I am always on the lookout on menus for new and creative ideas. The first night there, we ate at a French themed restaurant. For my salad course, I ordered a pear and goat cheese salad. Let’s face it, I am a little obsessed with goat cheese. It was described as a tender greens salad with pear, goat cheese, asparagus, walnuts and a champagne vinaigrette. YUM! I like all of those things so I gave it a whirl.

The salad was good. But the presentation was AMAZING. I did my best to re-create it so that you can see what I saw. I am including a very simple lemon/white wine vinaigrette recipe too. If you are going to try to impress your guests, this is an ingeniously simple way to start!

final

You definitely need to try this at home!

I started with about 1/4 Cup of goat cheese and hand formed it into a patty

stack 1

Then I cut a green pear (you could use an apple if you’d like) and cut it in half horizontally into a ring.  I cut out the core, leaving a hole the size of a quarter and I placed the pear ring on top of the cheese

stack 2

I then rolled 4 leaves of red leaf lettuce into a “tube” and stuffed the core end of the lettuce into the hole in the pear sticking it into the goat cheese as an anchor.

stack

I sprinkled the chopped walnuts around the salad tower and drizzled the whole thing lightly with the vinaigrette.

dressing

Voila! Done.  So simple and pretty!

White wine lemon vinaigrette

ings

¼ Cup white whine vinegar
2T balsamic vinegar
2T lemon juice
1T honey
1t Dijon mustard
1T mayo
Salt and pepper to taste

Blend all together with a whisk or a food processor. Serve on salad greens or over chicken breasts

Leave a Reply

