Dark Chocolate and Coconut… a little bit of tropical heaven

I love my weekly dinner with friends. If you don’t do this with your group of friends, you should. It is a great time to sit around the table talking and laughing. We switch off who makes the entrée every week. This is great because we all get a chance to “show off.” Some of us call Mom for our favorite recipes from childhood, some of us get to try those crazy Pinterest projects we have had sitting around, and others of us just straight up use each other as guinea pigs for our experiments. We have yet to have a bad meal!

This past week, Anna made a chicken Parmesan recipe she found on Pinterest. (It was yummy!) I knew someone else had bread and salad covered; so when I got home from work I scoured my kitchen to see if I could throw a dessert together in an hour or less.

Well, I didn’t find much. I am rarely home to cook so don’t keep a stock of “normal” groceries. I can usually pull together a batch of cookies or brownies, though. (I mean – a girl has to have chocolate handy at all times in case of tears) I ran across a bag of dark chocolate chips, an open bag of shredded coconut and a can of cream of coconut.  So… given the 45 minutes I had left, I decided chocolate coconut cookies were in order.

I added the cream of coconut to the batter and used brown sugar to deepen the flavor of the cookie. (I decided to do that based on my love of the Samoa Girl Scout Cookie.) Who doesn’t love a “caramel-y” richness? To my delight, the recipe worked! The cookies were fluffy and chewy and richer tasting than they were sweet. They were even soft and yummy the next day, with a coconut flavor (my favorite) that was in every bite. Try these the next time you need a quick dessert on the go. They package nicely and are extremely portable.

 

cookie final

Dark Chocolate Coconut Cookies

 

14 T butter, softened.

1 Cup packed light brown sugar

½ Cup sugar

2 eggs

½ can (7 ½ oz) Cream of Coconut (including the solid at the top when you open the can

1 T vanilla

2 ¾ Cups all-purpose flour

1 t baking soda

1 t salt

1 ½ Cup shredded, sweetened coconut

1 bag dark chocolate chips

 

 

  1.         In bowl of stand mixer, cream together the butter and both sugars.
  2.        Add the eggs, vanilla and cream of coconut and blend well
  3.        In a bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda and salt
  4.        Turn the mixer down and add the flour mixture a ½ cup at a time, pausing the mixer to scrape the sides and bottom of bowl to ensure all is being incorporated.
  5.        Once the cookie batter is smooth and all incorporated, add the coconut and dark chocolate chips.  Mix quickly, just until well blended
  6.        Drop 2” balls of dough onto a greased cookie sheet (or one lined with parchment) and bake at 375 until done.  About 12-15 minutes.  They should be fluffy and golden brown.

 

cookie 3

One thought on “Dark Chocolate and Coconut… a little bit of tropical heaven

  1. Pingback: Cooking to Impress: Chicken with Goat Cheese | To Taste

Leave a Reply

