Creamy Blueberry Lemon Dressing!

I love something about every season. It is finally trying to be Spring here in Waco. I love waking up in the mornings to the sounds of all kinds of birds chirping and happily moving around outside. It’s like the world is starting to move again after having been in a long sleep. I love how the park near where I live seems to turn green overnight. Not dark green, but that soft, fuzzy green of new grass and leaves. Even the water in the river seems bluer. Spring is a brilliant explosion of colors after so much gray and brown.

blueberries 2

I think this colorful display is what inspired my latest salad dressing creation. Well that, and the fact that I got myself an immersion blender. Lol. When tasked with the weekly salad for our family dinner, I hit the produce section. The berries right now are awesome. And while the limes look a little puny, the lemons are giant and bright yellow. So I started to think of a salad that I could put all of that together in.

lemon-banner-new

I started with mixed salad greens. I love baby spinach because it is so healthy and tender. I added baby red and green romaine because they are sweet and add some color. Sweet red onion rings, strawberries, blackberries, blueberries and candied pecans were tossed in. I crumbled up some goat cheese (not only my favorite- but perfect with all things lemon). Now for the dressing….

A creamy blueberry lemon dressing was created to offset all of my flavors! I kept it pretty simple and very fresh. It turned out to be the perfect sweet-tart drizzle for the fruit loaded salad. Not to mention that it was really beautiful, too! Check out my recipe below and create your own salad masterpiece!

 

Creamy Blueberry Lemon dressing

blueberries 1

2/3 pint of fresh blueberries (about 2/3 cup)

Juice of 2 large lemons (about 4T)

½ Cup Balsamic vinegar (I have also used an orange blossom honey white balsamic)

pic 1

¼ Cup heavy Cream

Salt and pepper to taste

 

 

  1. Place the blueberries and lemon juice in a blender.  Turn on and let the blender go until the blueberries are liquefied.
  2. pic 3With blender running on low, add the balsamic vinegar and then the heavy cream
  3. Stop the blender and taste the dressing.  Add salt and black pepper to taste.  Blend briefly to incorporate and then the dressing is ready!  Store in refrigerator until ready to use!

pic 2

One thought on “Creamy Blueberry Lemon Dressing!

Leave a Reply

