Friends Forever

I haven’t blogged in a WHILE.  Seems like time is non-existent these days.  But that doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy working on lots of new things! Or that I haven’t had a lot on my mind! And besides, today is the first day of Fall.  Seems like as good a day as any other to get back in the swing of things. This blog will not have anything to do with pumpkins though…

Today I want to celebrate my friends. I believe that friends are the family you choose. True friends are the ones that are there in thick and thin. They live life with you. The good, bad and ugly.  They are honest with you and always hold your best interests at heart. They hold your hand through hard times, they encourage you in dark times, they celebrate with you in good times and they always know when you need a hug.

I was proofreading my first cookbook the other day (I just ordered some more copies to be printed and they will be available next week to purchase) and I was reminded of some of the special friendships in my life. So many friendships and relationships are created, deepened and sustained over meals. I am a firm believer in this. In fact, I am working on a second cookbook, hoping to continue to encourage people to come together over a home cooked meal. I will be calling on my friends for their help! Consider yourselves warned.

cookbook1

Speaking of friends, I currently have a dear friend (actually several) that are facing the loss of their husband, brother, son and friend, respectively, due to an unexpected health incident. I feel helpless.  All of us that love him, and them, do. The only way I have been able to contribute is through meals and prayers. It just never seems enough when you are faced with such a life altering situation. They all continue to weigh heavy on my heart as it breaks for them. They are showing such amazing confidence and grace through this trial and I am so proud to know, and to have known, all of them. They cling to Deuteronomy 31:8. “Do not be afraid, Do not be discouraged”

friends-1

As small as it may seem, meals are a great way to show people your love. Be it a time of loss, a time of hope, a time of celebration, sharing meals shows you care about them. I am including a recipe here that I have used countless times to make freezer meals for people who have had surgery, babies, losses. These enchiladas hold up well and freeze and re-heat well. I thought I would share it with you guys so you can share it with those you love. Hug your friends a little tighter this week. Take advantage of the time you have together and invest in each other. It is an investment well worth the effort. Blessings.

 

Avocado Chicken Enchiladas

avocadoes

Ingredients:

5 pounds Chicken Breasts

3 cloves fresh garlic, peeled

3 large avocados

2 Cups shredded Monterrey Jack Cheese

2 Cups PLAIN Greek yogurt

1 t salt

1 t Crushed red pepper

24 corn tortillas

2 ½ Cups green salsa ( 20 oz jar)

1 ½ Cups heavy cream

½ t salt

½ t pepper

 

  1. Boil the chicken breasts along with the fresh garlic cloves.
  2. While the chicken and garlic are boiling, peel the avocadoes and place them in a large bowl. Using a fork or potato masher, mash the avocado. Add the cheese.
  3. When the chicken is cooked through, Remove it and the garlic cloves from the water and chop or shred the chicken. Add it to the avocado and cheese. Mash the softened, cooked garlic and add it to the chicken.
  4. Add the yogurt and gently stir everything together. Add the salt and red pepper. Stir well.
  5. Add about 1/3 Cup of the filling to a corn tortilla. Gently roll and place seam side down into a large baking dish. Continue to roll the enchiladas until all of the filling is used. You will get 20-25 enchiladas. You can place them tightly together into one large baking dish, or 2 smaller ones.
  6. In a clean bowl, whisk together the salsa, heavy cream, salt and pepper. Pour the sauce evenly over the enchiladas.

At this point, they just need to be heated through. 350 degree oven for 30-45 minutes, or until they are bubbly and hot. If you don’t want to serve them immediately, wrap them and freeze them for cooking later. Or leave them in the fridge for up to 3 days (covered) and make them for dinner later in the week.

Leave a Reply

