Leah loves to hear from readers, whether it be sharing a recipe, receiving feedback or asking a question. To get in touch with Leah, simply send an e-mail to, visit The Olive Branch at, or find us on your favorite social networking sites!

6 thoughts on “Contact

  1. Hi Leah,

    I am part of a new online magazine called “Focus on Fitness” and we would like to feature The Olive Branch in our upcoming issue!

    We want to share with Waco the great places they can get a healthy FRESH meal in the 254!

    I wanted to know if we could set up a time for a phone interview sometime on or after December 27? What times would be the most convenient for you?

    Looking forward to the possibility of getting to chat with you and learn more about how you started your business.

    Thank you for your consideration,

    Alexsis Ramirez


  2. Hi Leah,

    I was wondering if you still have any of your cookbooks for sale. I have tried a few of your recipes on your blog, (my favorite so far is the easy grilled chicken) and they come out awesome, every time.

    If so, please let me know. I am interested in purchasing one. Thanks, Chantal Blanton

    • Hi Chantal,

      Thanks for your interest in Leah’s cookbooks! She does have a few left for sale and we’d be happy to send one your way. They are $24.99 and if you are in the Waco area, you can drop by any time to pick one up. If you’d like us to ship one to you, we’re happy to do that as well.

      For more information, please email me at and we’ll get you taken care of.


  3. Good afternoon Leah,

    I just dined in at the Olive Branch for lunch with a co-worker. I usually visit once a week at your establishment, it’s quiet and relaxing for lunch to get out of the office. Unfortunately, my visit today wasn’t pleasant. We were greeted by our waitress, Kim, in a timely fashion. She brought our drinks quickly and we ordered. I ordered the low carb combo, I asked if I could substitute the bacon on the chicken for mushrooms. Kim told me she could do that but it would be an extra charge… I didn’t ask why although I didn’t understand why I couldn’t substitute mushrooms instead of bacon at no additional charge. I just requested that I would keep the bacon and not have mushrooms and also just a fruit cup as it was an option between that and a salad. So we patiently waited for our food to arrive. Once she brought us our food… I looked at my plate and noticed I had scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit cup and sliced tomatoes. Clearly was not what I ordered and I said I thought the low carb combo came with a chicken breast smothered with provolone cheese and sliced bacon. She quickly said no our low carb combo is this. I responded and said no ma’am, this isn’t what I order, may I please see menu? She continues to tell me this is the only low carb combo but she can take it away and I could order something else. I repeated myself by asking for a menu. Kim then went back to get a menu and reads through it while she is walking back to our table. Stated oh I see…. there is a grilled chicken breast with bacon and cheese. I said yes, that is what I ordered. She said well here’s your fruit cup I will get this fixed. I proceeded to ask how long it would take as I was on my lunch break. Kim said well I will get it put in and walks off. My food finally arrives as my co-worker is finishing her lunch and I begin eating. She came back to ask if everything was ok. We finished our lunch and my co-worker had never dined at the Olive Branch before and wanted to try a cake ball. She didn’t know what flavor cake balls were being served, she names off some and we ordered a raspberry chocolate and chocolate chip cookie dough as she said she had these. She comes back with the raspberry chocolate cake ball and said they didn’t have the chocolate chip cook dough one today. I said no problem we will just take our checks. She drops off our checks and I notice I was charged $3.50 for a fruit cup and on the menu it reads that the low carb combo is served with a house or caesar salad, or a fruit cup. So when Kim comes back to our table I mention this to her, she is clearly frustrated at this point but I didn’t feel as if anything I requested was at all complicated. She said fine I can take that off, she runs my co-workers debit card and I paid with cash. Kim brings our payments back and walks off. I felt the way she approached her mistake with my order was very unprofessional and uncalled for as well as the issue with being charged for a fruit cup.

    To top the unpleasant experience for our Friday lunch, there was a homeless man coming in and filling up his water bottle and a styrofoam cup full of water. This happened on 2 occasions in the 50 minutes we were there. The waitstaff clearly noticed this man doing this. The second time he came into the restaurant he was on the floor in front of the beverage station picking items off of the floor. Not only was I shocked that the waitstaff continued to let him do this…. he was touching the same beverage station that my beverage was coming from. It was quite disgusting.

    I have been in the restaurant business for the past 8 years and just feel that customers are what keep us in business and we should try to make their visits as pleasant as possible, regardless of the situation.

    In the past I have enjoyed dining at the Olive Branch for lunch with fellow co-workers, friends and family. It was somewhat alarming to have a waitress deal with the situation like this on top of the homeless man coming in the establishment.

    I don’t expect anything from this email that I’m writing you, I simply just wanted to provide you with some feedback.

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend.


    • Lauren – I am apalled!! I am SO sorry!!! Kimberly is a relatively new waitress and mostly works weekends. (during which the lo-carb combo you ordered isn’t available) Regardless, her response to you was completely unprofessional and I am so sorry. I will be bringing this to her attention as every situation is a learning opportunity. I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write. It means so much that you care enough to take the time. I obviously have several issues to address with the staff.

      As for the homeless man. You are right. He should not be allowed to fill his drink himself. He often comes in and purchases food and drinks, so I don’t choose to ask him to leave if he isn’t actively bothering my customers. However, it is completely inappropriate for him to “help himself” I will address this with the staff as well. We do sanitize our drink stations/handles and counters often. I hope that helps put your mind at ease.

      I am so sorry for the disappointing visit. I DO hope you will return and that your next visit will be more pleasant. I know you didn’t ask for anything, but I’d like to buy your next meal and meet you! The customers that take the time to give feedback are so important to me and I appreciate you. Will you please tell your server that you have an appointment with me the next time you come in? (I will be out of town until July 9) Thanks Lauren.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s